New job: Lecturer in the Human Geography of the Environment

UEA GeographyLast week I was delighted to be offered a lectureship in the Human Geography of the Environment in the School of Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, where I have been based since I started my Master’s degree. I will formally take up the lectureship on April 1st (when I will be, appropriately, at the Association of American Geographers annual conference in San Francisco) and my main task will be contribute to and help shape the School’s new Geography BA programme which starts in September 2016. I will carry on my involvement with the UKERC energy participation project which I have been working on as a senior research associate for the last year, but my new role will also give me the opportunity develop my ideas around ‘democratic innovations’ further and put some new research proposals together. I will also be helping to run field trips and taking on other teaching and administrative responsibilities.

I’m really thrilled to have this opportunity to develop my own research and teaching, especially within the 3S research group which I have been a member of since 2011. The group and the School of Environmental Sciences were so important in guiding and supporting my PhD, so it’s great to be able to contribute as a member of faculty.

I’ll be spending the next few months reflecting on introductory Human Geography teaching and thinking through my research plans, while I wrap up a few tasks on the UKERC project.

Leave a Reply

